Best Lawyers in Canada 2024 : 29 Lawyers Recognized

Montreal, August 24, 2023 – De Grandpré Chait is pleased to announce that 29 of our lawyers have been recognized in the 2024 edition of Best Lawyers in Canada. A source of great pride for our firm, one of them has even received the prestigious recognition of Lawyer of the Year and four others are listed in Best Lawyers: Ones to Watch in Canada.

Lawyer of the Year

The prestigious Lawyer of the Year award, determined by the average number of votes received following peer review, is given to a single lawyer per field of practice and per metropolitan area. Congratulations to this year’s recipient, who has been elected for the third year running:

  • Marc Beauchemin | Municipal Law

Best Lawyers: Ones to Watch in Canada

Dedicated to up-and-coming lawyers who stand out from their peers, the Best Lawyers: Ones to Watch in Canada recipients for 2024 are:

  • David Coutu | Tax Law
  • Robert Greenberg | Real Estate Law
  • Mélanie Nguyen | Tax Law
  • Marc-André Perreault | Mergers & Acquisitions Law and Tax Law

Best Lawyer in Canada

The annual Best Lawyers in Canada rankings highlight the skills and expertise of lawyers nominated by their peers across the country. We take immense pride in highlighting the consistent increase in the count of our recognized lawyers over the recent years. This upward trajectory not only underscores the exceptional prowess of our legal team but also accentuates the diverse range of top-tier legal services we provide.

As part of this edition, we are pleased to announce the following awards:

  • Seth Abbey | Mergers & Acquisitions Law
  • François Beauchamp | Construction Law and Insurance Law
  • Marc Beauchemin | Class Action Litigation, Municipal Law, and Expropriation Law
  • Sylvain Bélair | Administrative Law, Municipal Law, and Expropriation Law
  • Piero Biasini | Real Estate Law
  • Matthew Bilmes | Tax Law
  • Fredric L. Carsley | Real Estate and Commercial Leasing Law
  • Etienne Chauvin | Construction Law
  • Philipp Duffy | Real Estate, Construction Law, and Project Finance Law
  • L.B. Erdle | Construction Law
  • Jonathan M. Fecteau | Expropriation Law and Municipal Law
  • Aubie J. Herscovitch | Commercial Leasing Law and Real Estate Law
  • Louise Houle | Trusts and Estates
  • David H. Kauffman | Construction Law
  • Eric Lalanne | Commercial Litigation
  • Virginia K.H. Lam | Commercial Leasing Law and Intellectual Property Law
  • Eric Lasry | Real Estate Law
  • Emmanuel Laurin-Légaré | Class Actions
  • Marie Laure Leclercq Ad . E. | Technology Law and Information Technology Law
  • Marc Ian Leiter | Corporate Law
  • François Marchand | Insurance Law and Professional Malpractice Law
  • Martin Raymond | Tax Law
  • Marc J. Rubin | Real Estate Law
  • Louis Samuel | Commercial Leasing
  • Julie Tremblay | Tax Law